22 Weeks

Probably time for an update hey? Well I was right and I do have gestational diabetes, so I’ve been on insulin since around 10 weeks. It’s fine, it doesn’t worry me because at the end of the day it is for the health of the baby and what’s one more needle in this whole process (it’s only a pen needle too) the way some women carry on about taking insulin you’d think they had to inject clexane daily or something (now that’s a painful needle!).  We are also having another girl which is fine by me! E is very excited about becoming a big sister but doesn’t fully grasp the concept really – she’s insisting there’s a baby in her tummy not mine.

My cervix has held fast… it did get down to 2.1 cms which is pretty short but since then it’s rallied and is back up to 2.6 – 2.7  cms (anything under 2.5cms is classified as high risk) so I was getting a bit nervous there for a while but am feeling better about it all at the moment. I just want to make it to at least 26 weeks when the baby will be classed as ‘viable’ and the hospital would fight to save the baby. 29 weeks would make me feel MUCH better, but beggars can’t be choosers sometimes.

The OB also found ‘amniotic sludge’ in one of my fortnightly scans – which is apparently the official term (how nice) which is a marker for pre-term birth. No one can tell me how pre-term that’s likely to be but I should be prepared that things might happen sooner than 38 weeks. I had course of antibiotics to combat the sludge (which indicates inflammation/infection) and it seems to have cleared up since, it also common in pregnancies with a short cervix.  So it’s just another thing to worry about I guess. I’m wondering if I should be packing my hospital bag sooner rather than later.

In other news, we have also bought a new house which is pretty exciting. It’s the opposite side of town which will be a big change for both my husband and I … it’s pretty much suburbia and that’s fine by me. It’s on the cusp of the country suburbs – my going out at night days are over, and driving to meet friends doesn’t phase me – I want peace and quiet, a bigger space and a nice garden… this house also needs basically no renovating so that’s a big win in my book as well. I’m sure my full time work at home husband will be very happy to get out of the corner of our dining room and into his own office. We move in about 3 weeks and it can’t come soon enough after a 3 month settlement period.

So that’s where we’re up to. This pregnancy is not without its stressors – I’m on edge a lot of the time and taking it very easy with the physical side of my work that’s for sure. I’m in bed at around 7pm just watching tv once E goes to sleep – keeping my feet up and relaxing. I do feel much better this pregnancy though (losing 30kgs has to make some difference!) and am still in mostly size 14 clothes… I have no idea where my weight will end up though and it’s freaking me out a bit. I’ve put on 7kgs so far so who knows and my restriction is not as tight as it used to be with my sleeve weightloss surgery, I guess I’ll reassess a month or so after having the baby and follow up with my weight loss surgeon.

Leave a comment