A-Ok

First OB appointment yesterday and I have to say I’m so relieved in more than one way… first off the scan went well and baby was still kicking (my symptoms disappeared for a couple of days and freaked me out) so when I arrived to the new OB he asked if anything was worrying me and I admitted I was concerned I’d had a missed miscarriage so he scanned me straight up before we got into any background info so that I could relax. HB at 165 and all measuring bang on 9w5days – so then we got into my very elaborate medical history and discussed his approach to my issues. First up I have to do the Glucose Tolerance Test this week (boo!) as I had GD in my last pregnancy, I guess I’d rather know earlier rather than later and I highly suspect I’ll have it as my fasting BGL’s are a ALWAYS high or borderline, even when not pregnant… so I’ve resigned myself to having to do insulin… it’s inevitable. Secondly he told me that I am more likely to get pre-eclampsia again after having it once (my old OB told me I wasn’t more likely) all research I’ve done suggests new OB is right… so he will be monitoring my blood pressure and protein levels closely and if my platelet count from my blood tests is ok (I have ITP) I’ll be put on low dose aspirin to help avoid it.  My short cervix .. we are checking the length at my 13 week scan and if it’s still short or showing signs of getting worse he’s offered to do the cerclage stitch for me as a preventative measure (I can’t tell you how relieved that makes me feel).

So this week it’s GTT time for me (I was going to do it this morning but the kid woke up at 5.30am and there’s no way I could make it to 8.30am with no coffee waking up at that time! So I’ll do it tomorrow on my annual leave day. Next week it’s NIPT time and we’ll find out the Gender then a couple of weeks after that it will be time for my 13 w scan and follow up OB appointment.

My arse is absolutely killing me now from the gestone shots, I have a tennis ball sized lump on one side and a golf ball sized one on the other… I’m switching over to Crinone for a few days to give my bum a rest and stop meds completely in a couple of weeks as they run out.

So everything is looking good – in amongst all of this we are trying to sell our farm and find a bigger house in the city (once the farm sells) so lots of stress around that with people putting in offers then reneging , we are trying to take it one step at a time but we do kind of have the deadline of a baby coming now so it makes it a bit more time sensitive.

One thought on “A-Ok

Leave a comment