Transfer Day #2

I am officially PUPO. It took me ages to work out what PUPO stood for back in the day when I first joined parenting forums. For those who are still in the dark, it’s “pregnant until proven otherwise” kind of lame, but it is what it is.

My transfer time was at 11.15am and me being me I turned up an hour early just simply so I wouldn’t be late, I figured it would give me time to have a coffee and drink the fluids I needed for my full bladder transfer. They were running a bit behind which isn’t unusual and I was prepared for this, but I really dislike transfers, I always feel like I’m going to pee myself as soon as that speculum goes in and today was no different. Thankfully there wasn’t a lot of faffing around. My doctor and I had a quick meeting and I was advised that the second embryo that was behind at the time of freezing had not made the thaw. This really didn’t surprise me and actually took the decision out of my hands whether to transfer one or two, the other embryo was and expanding day 5 that looked ‘really good’.  Then we were off to the transfer room, legs up and and practice insertion of the catheter, then my embryos flashed up on the screen in the corner of the room, they matched up my ID number with ID number on the dish, they pushed the bad embryo out of the way, sucked up the good embryo and transferred by guided ultrasound. It’s pretty cool to see it going in to your uterus and I was trying to concentrate on this and not peeing.  Once the lab double check that the embryo is not in the catheter it’s speculum out and legs down ladies. My doctor tells me it all went really well, the lovely  nurse pats me on the hand and wishes me luck and I’m given 10 minutes to lay there or leave … it’s up to me. I choose to go pee and leave.  And so here we are, PUPO.

I headed straight back to the hotel for a lovely lunch downstairs while my room was being cleaned – I added in a farewell glass of pinot and now I’m back in my room about to embark on a rom com marathon from my bed.  I head home tomorrow and I’ll be glad to get there. Poor hubby is struggling a big juggling working full time and the baby… Grandma can’t do as much as she thought she could which is understandable, she is 77 after all and lifting a 8.5kg baby of her play mat or out of her swing is not easy even at 43! I’m looking forward to giving E lots of smooches and cuddles and will likely cry every time I look at her for the next week or two. I miss that little mite so much.

2 thoughts on “Transfer Day #2

  1. Best of luck!! I have everything crossed for you! Well done! Would of have been a hard journey to make on your own not to mention injecting yourself with those bloody big needles. Xx

Leave a comment