Back in Cape Town

It’s almost 5am and I’ve just woken up after 12 hours of uninterrupted sleep. You would think this would make me happy but I miss my family, more than I actually thought I would. It started before I’d even left Australia, waiting to board my first flight there were babies everywhere and my heartstrings were tugging. By the time I got to Johannesburg I was ready to cry at the drop of a hat, but when it really hit me was when I opened the door to my hotel room in Cape Town and looked around thinking, it’s all well and good. But they aren’t here.

While I waited for my room to be ready yesterday morning I Skyped with them quickly, but it was hard to hear in the foyer with waterfalls and some rennovations going on, so I’m hoping that we might be able to connect soon and have a chat.  Leaving Edie was hard. I cried in the days leading up to departing, I cried most of the morning that I actually left. Poor kid must have been wondering why I was squeezing her so tight every 10 minutes.  I didn’t get much of a reaction on Skype which isn’t surprising given the quality of the call, but I think it would have been worse for me if she looked like she desperately missed me!

I’ve had trouble getting my phone set up here and I feel very anxious about it, I don’t like being a foreign country without mobile internet or at the very least calling ability. I wanted to use Uber to get around and can’t do that without internet… I’m so dependent on internet now, once it’s gone it’s like someone has chopped an arm off! I have free wifi in the hotel thank god or I would have gone into a real decline. One option is to buy a really cheap base level smart phone here, which is seeming like a good option and just use my phone for browsing etc. while in the hotel.

I have to remind myself why I am here (to be honest, while I do all this touristy type of stuff it’s easy to forget!) it’s my lining scan today and I’m hoping it’s looking good. That’s my first hurdle and the next is hoping like crazy that my embryos thaw. I’m wondering, if my lining looks good today if we have to wait until the 3rd to transfer… I’m not sure, I guess the synarel would have to leave my system and the gestone/progesterone would need to build up, so I think I’ve answered my own question there.

Cape Town was very dark and gloomy when I arrived in and didn’t improve much most of my first day. The mountain sets the eco system for the hotel where I’m staying – it can be sunny one side of the city near the bay but the mountain can be foggy and wet. It’s funny though, it was still about 19 degrees here yesterday so I was running around in my flip flops most of the day, all the locals were in sweaters and boots… I’m thinking it doesn’t get all that cold here.  I walked up to the shopping mall to get some tea and milk for my room as I like a few cuppas throughout the day – and was sweating when I got there as I took cues from the locals as to what to wear. At one point in the vodacom shop I thought I might have caught something on the plane and would be sick again for the whole holiday/cycle… and trust me ebola did cross my mind (they infrared screen your temperature at the j’burg airport now) but thankfully all that was needed was a good 12 hour sleep and a shower.

I think by the time I got to bed I’d been up about 31 hours.  Funny how having a baby primes you for international travel though, I didn’t even start to feel a bit off until I hit about 29 hours. I’m sleep deprivation fit now baby! Last time my husband almost had to pour me off the plane I was so wrecked.

So my day today will be pretty tame, I have a massage booked at 10am then my lining scan is at the clinic at midday, after that I might head to the waterfront for a look around as there are craft markets down there have some lunch and head back to the hotel in the early afternoon. I intend to get out and about a bit in the day and have most evenings in the hotel catching up on movies and sleep. I think I might actually do the Robben Island tour of Nelson Mandela’s prison this time as I didn’t get to do it last time I was here and it will break things up a bit next week.

Ok hotel breakfast is beckoning me now… how I’ve missed those!

Leave a comment